Latest News

Sean Crosson was elected as a Fellow to the American Academy of Microbiology  in 2017.

Benoit Roux was elected a Fellow and National Lecturer for the Biophysical Society of Canada in May 2017.

D. Allan Drummond's promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure has been approved by the University.  Congratulations!  BMB will be honoring Dr. Drummond with a Happy Hour celebration on January 17, 2018 at 3:30 p.m. on the second floor of the GCIS west wing.

Assistant Professor Jingyi Fei has received a NIH New Innovator Award, based on er being an "exceptionally creative early career investigator who proposes innovative, high-impact projects."  For more information on the award, click here.  

Professor Stephen Kent has received the 2017 Prelog Medal, awarded by the Laboratory of Organic Chemistry at the ETH Zurich.  He will present the Prelog Lecture at the ETH on November 6.  More information can be found here.

Assistant Professor Jingyi Fei was named one of the 2017 Searle Scholars.  The Searle Scholars Program makes grants to selected universities and research centers to support the independent research of exceptional young faculty who have recentley been appointed as assistant professors on a tenure-track appointment in the biomedical sciences and chemistry.

Professor Erin Adams was named the Joseph Regenstein Professor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and the College.  Adams also holds appointments in the Committee on Immunology and Cancer Biology, and is one of the four principal investigators for the myCHOICE program.

Professor J. Keith Moffat has been named the Louis Block Distinguished Service Professor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and the College. Moffat is a founding member of the Institute for Biophysical Dynamics, and founded the Center for Advanced Radiation Sources (CARS). He is Primary Investigator of BioCARS at the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory.